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APPRAISER LICENSE/CERTIFICATE RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS 
 

No later than 30 days before the expiration of an appraiser's license or certificate, an appraiser seeking to renew the license or 
certificate shall submit a completed application accompanied by the appropriate renewal application fees.  Once the application 
has been filed, fees are nonrefundable. 

 
The renewal application is not on the website.  Pursuant to statute, the renewal application shall be mailed to the last known 
address of record not more than 90 days or less than 60 days before the renewal date. 

 
The renewal application requires the appraiser to: 

 
1. Submit  proof  (copies  of  certificates)  of  completion  of  the  required  28  continuing  education  hours  taken  within 

appraiser's two-year renewal period. 
 

a.    All continuing education courses must be approved by the Arizona Board of Appraisal  OR approved by the state 
in which appraiser took the course.  Submitted certificates for courses approved by the Arizona Board must be on 
the Board's form of certificate. The list of Board-approved courses is updated monthly on the Board’s website. 

 
b.   If a course certificate submitted from another state does not indicate that the course is approved by that state, 

submit an attachment of that state's approval. 
 

c.  A course less than three hours long will not be accepted, even if approved in another state. 
 

d. Continuing education courses taken through distance education may not exceed 75% of the required 28 hours. 
 

e. The same course cannot be repeated for use as continuing education credit within a renewal period. 
 

f.   A course instructor may receive up to 14 hours of continuing education credit for course instruction of Board- 
approved course(s) per renewal period; however, a course instructor may not receive credit for the same course 
in consecutive renewal periods. 

 
2.       Submit proof (copy of certificate) of completion of a 7-hour national USPAP update course taken within appraiser’s 

two-year renewal period: 
 

a.    According to our rules, the 7-hour USPAP course cannot be taken online even if it was taken in another state.  
 

b.    The  7-hour  national  USPAP  update  course  hours  may  be  used  towards  the  28  continuing  education  hours 
required in item #1, above. 

 
3.            Fees due: 

$425.00   Biennial Renewal Fee 
$80.00  Biennial National Registry Fee 
$25.00  Delinquent Fee (if received after the due date set out in applicant's renewal notice) 
Payable to the Arizona Board of Appraisal.  Do not send personal checks or business checks.  Cash in the 
exact amount will be accepted if paid in person at the Board office. 

 
4.       Submit the Arizona Statement of Cit izenship.  This form is included with the renewal appl ication. 

 
A LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE EXPIRES ON ITS EXPIRATION DATE.   An appraiser  SHALL NOT engage in, advertise or 
purport to engage in real estate appraisal activity in this state  AFTER a license or certificate has expired and  BEFORE the 
renewal of the expired license or certificate. 

 
Failure to comply with the above requirements will result in the nonrenewal of the appraiser's license/certificate and removal of 
the appraiser's name from the Board list, as well as the National Registry list. 



2 11/08  

Applications are processed in the order they are received. Please submit your application with enough time for 
processing.  Processing time can take up to 14 days.  

 
IF THE APPRAISER  DOES NOT FILE A RENEWAL APPLICATION  AND MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL 
WITHIN 90 DAYS AFTER THE EXPIRATION DATE, THE EXPIRATION OF THE LICENSE/CERTIFICATE WILL BE 
PERMANENT AND THE APPRAISER WILL HAVE TO APPLY AS A NEW APPLICANT AND COMPLY WITH THE CURRENT 
APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS. 

 
APPRAISERS ON INACTIVE STATUS:   You must pay the renewal fee and complete an application for renewal AT YOUR 
USUAL RENEWAL TIME; however, you are not required to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education 
requirements until the application for reactivation is filed. 

 
EXCEPTION:  A person deployed outside of the United States on active military duty with the United States Armed Forces and 
whose license or certificate has expired during such active military duty outside of the United States may file a renewal application 
within 180 days of returning home from active military duty and shall not be required to pay a late renewal fee. Evidence of the 
renewal applicant's dates and locations of deployment must be submitted with the renewal application.  In addition, the renewal 
applicant must provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements that the renewal applicant would have 
otherwise been required to meet during the period preceding the renewal application.  A person deployed outside of the United 
States on active military duty with the United States Armed Forces must file an Application for Inactive License or Certificate 
Status for Active Military Duty upon deployment.  In no event shall the inactive status exceed three years. 


