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APPRAISER LICENSE/CERTIFICATE RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS 
 
 
Pursuant to A.R.S. 32-3619 A.  no later than 30 days before the expiration of an appraiser's license or certificate, an 
appraiser seeking to renew the license or certificate shall submit a completed application accompanied by the 
appropriate renewal application fees.  Once the application has been filed, fees are nonrefundable. 
 
The renewal application is not on the website.  Pursuant to statute, the renewal application will be sent out not more 
than 90 days or less than 60 days before the renewal date. 
 
The renewal application requires the appraiser to: 
 

1. Apply for OR have an Arizona Level One Clearance card that is active for two additional years 
a. All applicants must undergo a criminal background check through Arizona Department of Public Safety 

(DPS). As of July 24th, 2014, a DPS issued "clearance card", is required pursuant to A.R.S. §32-3620 
b. The fee for this background check is $67.00 and can be submitted with a business check, cashier's check 

or money order made payable to DPS. Please send the fee, the appropriate DPS form, and the fingerprint 
card directly to DPS. (Forms are available at the Department of Financial Institutions. Please contact staff 
to send you the necessary documents).  

c. If applying for a clearance card, provide the DPS application number shown in the upper right corner of 
the yellow copy of this form, onto the Real Estate Appraisal application. If you already have an Arizona 
level one clearance card and it is active for two additional years, include your card number onto the Real 
Estate Appraisal application. 

 
2. Submit  proof  (copies  of  certificates)  of  completion  of  the  required  28  continuing  education  hours  taken  

within appraiser's two-year renewal period. 
a. All continuing education courses must be approved by the Real Estate Appraisal Division OR approved by 

the state in which appraiser took the course.  Submitted certificates for courses approved by the Real 
Estate Appraisal Division must be on the Division’s form of certificate.  

b. If a course certificate submitted from another state does not indicate that the course is approved by that 
state, submit an attachment of that state's approval. 

c.  A course less than three hours long will not be accepted, even if approved in another state. 
d. Continuing education courses taken through distance education may not exceed 75% of the 28 hours.  
e. The same course cannot be repeated for use as continuing education credit within a renewal period. 
f.   A course instructor may receive up to 14 hours of continuing education credit for course instruction within a 

renewal period; however, a course instructor may not receive credit for the same course in consecutive 
renewal periods. Course must have been approved by the Real Estate Appraisal Division. 

 
3. Submit proof (copy of certificate) of completion of a 7-hour national USPAP update course taken within 

appraiser’s two-year renewal period: 
a.    According to the Division’s rules, the 7-hour USPAP course cannot be taken online even if it was 

taken in another state.  
b.   The  7-hour  national  USPAP  update  course  hours  may  be  used  towards  the  28  continuing  

education hours required in item #1, above. 
4. Fees due: 

$425.00 Biennial Renewal Fee 
$80.00   Biennial National Registry Fee 
$25.00   Delinquent Fee (if received after the due date set out in applicant's renewal notice) 
 

5. If you are not a US citizen, you must provide documentation of your current visa status. 
   
 
 
 
 

https://boa.az.gov/sites/default/files/documents/files/House%20Bill%202239%20section%2032.pdf
https://boa.az.gov/sites/default/files/documents/files/House%20Bill%202239%20section%2032.pdf
https://boa.az.gov/sites/default/files/documents/files/AZ%20Statement%20of%20Citizenship%20-Proof%20of%20Citizenship.pdf
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A LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE EXPIRES ON ITS EXPIRATION DATE.  An appraiser SHALL NOT engage in, advertise 
or purport to engage in real estate appraisal activity in this state  AFTER a license or certificate has expired and  
BEFORE the renewal of the expired license or certificate. 
 
Failure to comply with the above requirements will result in the nonrenewal of the appraiser's license/certificate and 
removal of the appraiser's name from the National Registry list. 
 
Applications are processed in the order they are received. Please submit your application with enough time for 
processing.  Processing time can take up to 14 days.  
 
IF THE APPRAISER DOES NOT FILE A RENEWAL APPLICATION AND MEET ALL REQUIREMENTS FOR 
RENEWAL WITHIN 90 DAYS AFTER THE EXPIRATION DATE, THE EXPIRATION OF THE LICENSE/CERTIFICATE 
WILL BE PERMANENT AND THE APPRAISER WILL HAVE TO APPLY AS A NEW APPLICANT AND COMPLY WITH 
THE CURRENT APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS. 
 
APPRAISERS ON INACTIVE STATUS:  You must pay the renewal fee and complete an application for renewal AT 
YOUR USUAL RENEWAL TIME; however, you are not required to provide evidence of completion of the continuing 
education requirements until the application for reactivation is filed. 
 
EXCEPTION: A person deployed outside of the United States on active military duty with the United States Armed 
Forces and whose license or certificate has expired during such active military duty outside of the United States may file 
a renewal application within 180 days of returning home from active military duty and shall not be required to pay a late 
renewal fee. Evidence of the renewal applicant's dates and locations of deployment must be submitted with the renewal 
application.  In addition, the renewal applicant must provide evidence of completion of the continuing education 
requirements that the renewal applicant would have otherwise been required to meet during the period preceding the 
renewal application.  A person deployed outside of the United States on active military duty with the United States 
Armed Forces must file an Application for Inactive License or Certificate Status for Active Military Duty upon 
deployment.  In no event shall the inactive status exceed three years. 
 


