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REAL ESTATE APPRAISAL DIVISION 
Application Requirements effective January 1, 2015. 

NONRESIDENT TEMPORARY LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE 
 
 
To jump to the relevant section of instructions, please click on the link below. 
 
FEES 
ARIZONA LEVEL ONE CLEARANCE CARD 
NONRESIDENT TEMPORARY Pursuant to A.R.S. 32-3617 
DOCUMENTATION OF ANY “YES” ANSWERS 
ARIZONA LAW 
ARIZONA STATEMENT OF CITIZENSHIP AND ALIEN STATUS 
 
 
1.  FEES 
 

APPLICATION FEE $150.00  Submit a cashier’s check, certified check or money order payable to the 
Department of Financial Institutions.  Personal or business checks WILL NOT be accepted. 

 
2. ARIZONA LEVEL ONE CLEARANCE CARD (Pursuant to A.R.S. §32-3620)  
 a. All applicants must undergo a criminal background check through Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS).  

As of July 24th, 2014, a DPS issued "clearance card", is required.   
 b. The fee for this background check is $67.00 and can be submitted with a business check, cashier's check or 

money order made payable to DPS.  Please send the fee, the appropriate DPS form, and the fingerprint 
card directly to DPS.  (Forms are available at the Department of Financial Institutions. Please contact staff to 
send you the necessary documents).  

 c. If applying for a clearance card, provide the DPS application number shown in the upper right corner of the 
yellow copy of this form, onto the Real Estate Appraisal application.  If you already have an Arizona level one 
clearance card and it is active for two additional years, include your card number onto the Real Estate 
Appraisal application.  

 
3. NONRESIDENT TEMPORARY Pursuant to A.R.S. 32-3617 

Prior to the passage of SB1316, nonresident temporary licenses or certificates required the assignment to be for a 
federally related transaction only.  As of 9/13/2013 the types of assignment (both federally related and non-
federally related) are eligible for nonresident temporary licenses or certificates. 
 

4. DOCUMENTATION OF ANY “YES” ANSWERS: 
 a. If you answer “YES” to question 1 through 11, inclusive, provide a signed, detailed statement describing the 

facts and circumstances, including the date and location of the incident or event. 
 b. In addition, submit the following:   
  1) For CRIMINAL matters, a certified copy of (1) Complaint and Indictment; (2) Information; (3) Plea 

agreement; (4) Presentence Report; (5) Judgment; (6) Sentencing documents: (7) Probation Papers; (8) 
Restoration of civil rights/expungement/dismissal documents.   

 2) For CIVIL matters, a certified copy of (1) Complaint; (2) Amended Complaint; (3) Judgment; (4) 
Satisfaction of Judgment; (5) Settlement Agreement.   

https://boa.az.gov/sites/default/files/documents/files/House%20Bill%202239%20section%2032.pdf
https://boa.az.gov/sites/default/files/documents/files/House%20Bill%202239%20section%2032.pdf
https://boa.az.gov/sites/default/files/documents/files/House%20Bill%202239%20section%2032.pdf
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 3)  For DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS, a certified copy of (1) Notice of hearing and/or complaint; (2) Answer; (3) 
Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law; (4) Final Order/Administrative Ruling; (5) Consent or 
Settlement Agreement; (6) Certified License/Certificate History from each state, except Arizona, in which 
applicant is licensed/certified at the time of application.   

  4)  Provide any other documentation that the applicant believes supports the applicant’s qualifications for 
licensure/certification or additional documentation that the Real Estate Appraisal Division may require.   

      c.  Note: If you attempt to obtain the required documents and are told that records have been destroyed or are 
otherwise unavailable, obtain a written statement to that effect from the agency and court.  Do not detach or 
unstaple certified documents.  Documents must remain in the original order received. 

 
5.  ARIZONA LAW:   
   a. Applicant must certify that applicant has read, understands, and pledges to comply with the requirements of 

Chapter 36, Title 32, Arizona Revised Statutes and Rules of the Real Estate Appraisal Division. 
  b. Note:  According to the Real Estate Appraisal Division’s rules, an applicant must meet all requirements for a 

license or certificate within one year of filing the application or the applicant’s file will be closed and the 
applicant must reapply.  Application fees are nonrefundable. 

 
6.  ARIZONA STATEMENT OF CITIZENSHIP AND ALIEN STATUS:   
 a. Applicant must complete the Applicant Statement and submit documentation of status.  Submit evidence of 

U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or Alien Status per A.R.S. §41-1080. 
 
41-1080. Licensing eligibility; authorized presence; documentation; applicability; definitions 
A. Subject to subsections C and D of this section, an agency or political subdivision of this state shall not issue a 

license to an individual if the individual does not provide documentation of citizenship or alien status by 
presenting any of the following documents to the agency or political subdivision indicating that the individual's 
presence in the United States is authorized under federal law: 

 1. An Arizona driver license issued after 1996 or an Arizona nonoperating identification license. 
 2. A driver license issued by a state that verifies lawful presence in the United States. 

3. A birth certificate or delayed birth certificate issued in any state, territory or possession of the United States. 
 4. A United States certificate of birth abroad. 
 5. A United States passport. 
 6. A foreign passport with a United States visa. 
 7. An I-94 form with a photograph. 

8. A United States citizenship and immigration services employment authorization document or refugee travel 
document. 

 9. A United States certificate of naturalization. 
 10. A United States certificate of citizenship. 
 11. A tribal certificate of Indian blood. 
 12. A tribal or bureau of Indian affairs affidavit of birth. 

13. Any other license that is issued by the federal government, any other state government, an agency of this 
state or a political subdivision of this state that requires proof of citizenship or lawful alien status before 
issuing the license. 

 
 B. This section does not apply to an individual if: 

 1. Both of the following apply: 
(a) The individual is a citizen of a foreign country or, if at the time of application, the individual resides in a 

foreign country. 
 (b) The benefits that are related to the license do not require the individual to be present in the United States 

in order to receive those benefits. 

https://boa.az.gov/sites/default/files/documents/files/House%20Bill%202239%20section%2032.pdf
https://boa.az.gov/sites/default/files/documents/files/Rules%20as%20of%2012.2013%20per%20AZ%20SOS.pdf
http://www.azleg.gov/ars/41/01080.htm
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2. All of the following apply if: 
(a) The individual is a resident of another state. 
(b) The individual holds an equivalent license in that other state and the equivalent license is of the same 

type being sought in this state. 
(c) The individual seeks the Arizona license to comply with this state's licensing laws and not to establish 

residency in this state. 
 

C. If, pursuant to subsection A of this section, an individual has affirmatively established citizenship of the United 
States or a form of nonexpiring work authorization issued by the federal government, the individual, on renewal 
or reinstatement of a license, is not required to provide subsequent documentation of that status. 

 
D. If, on renewal or reinstatement of a license, an individual holds a limited form of work authorization issued by the 

federal government that has expired, the individual shall provide documentation of that status. 
 
E. If a document listed in subsection A, paragraphs 1 through 12 of this section does not contain a photograph of the 

individual, the individual shall also present a government issued document that contains a photograph of the 
individual. 

 
F. For the purposes of this section: 

1. "Agency" means any agency, department, board or commission of this state or any political subdivision of 
this state that issues a license for the purposes of operating a business in this state or to an individual 
who provides a service to any person. 

2. "License" means any agency permit, certificate, approval, registration, charter or similar form of 
authorization that is required by law and that is issued by any agency for the purposes of operating a 
business in this state or to an individual who provides a service to any person where the license is 
necessary in performing that service.  
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