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REQUIREMENTS FOR SUBMITTING AN APPLICATION FOR  
REACTIVATION OF LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE FROM INACTIVE STATUS 

For Active Military Duty 
 
 

The attached application is intended for use by applicants for reactivation of license or certificate from inactive status pursuant to A.R.S. § 
32-3628. 
 
 

All entries must be typewritten or printed in ink. If you do not answer EVERY question, your Application will be considered 
incomplete and will delay the reactivation of your license or certificate from inactive status.  

 
 
FEES:  $0.   
 
PERIOD OF INACTIVE STATUS: The period a license or certificate is on inactive status is deemed to be while the license or certificate 
holder is on active military duty but may not exceed three years.  Active military duty does not include service persons performing weekend 
drill and annual training. 
 
RESTRICTIONS UNDER INACTIVE STATUS:  A license or certificate holder on inactive status shall not:  (1) Represent that the license or 
certificate holder is an active appraiser licensed or certified in Arizona; or (2) Perform real estate appraisals or appraisal reviews on real 
estate in Arizona.   
 
REACTIVATION OF INACTIVE STATUS:  A license or certificate holder on inactive status must file with the Board an application for 
reactivation of the license or certificate WITHIN 180 DAYS AFTER RETURNING HOME FROM ACTIVE MILITARY DUTY.  If the holder of 
an inactive license or certificate timely files an application for reactivation, the license or certificate is returned to active status on the 
Board's approval of the application for reactivation.  A license or certificate holder on inactive status remains on inactive status until the 
Board approves the application for reactivation.  The time period for completion of the continuing education requirements that the license 
or certificate holder would otherwise have been required to meet during the period when the license or certificate was on inactive status is 
extended for a period not to exceed 90 days after return from active military duty.  The license or certificate holder must submit proof of 
completion of any continuing education requirements to the Board no later than 120 days after completion. 
 
FAILURE TO MAKE TIMELY APPLICATION FOR REACTIVATION:  If the holder of an inactive license or certificate does not make 
timely application for reactivation, the holder must reapply for licensure or certification meeting all of the requirements in effect at the time 
of the reapplication. 
 
RENEWAL APPLICATION AND RENEWAL FEE:  In the event the license or certificate expired during such active military duty, the 
license or certificate holder on inactive status must pay the renewal fee and complete an application for renewal as required by A.R.S. §32-
3619 WITHIN 190 DAYS AFTER RETURNING HOME FROM ACTIVE MILITARY DUTY; however, the time period for completion of the 
continuing education requirements that the license or certificate holder would otherwise have been required to meet during the period 
when the license or certificate was on inactive status is extended for a period not to exceed 90 days after return from active military duty.  
The license or certificate holder must submit proof of completion of any continuing education requirements to the Board no later than 120 
days after completion.   
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DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY (DPS) 
 a. All applicants must undergo a criminal background check through AZ Department of Public Safety (DPS).  As of July 24th, 

2014, DPS will be issuing "clearance cards", which are good for six years from issuance.  To see FAQs regarding this process 
please click on this link:    https://boa.az.gov/faqs-background-checks  

 b. The fee for this background check is $67.00 and can be submitted with a business check, cashier's check or money order made 
payable to DPS.  Please send the fee, the appropriate DPS form, and the fingerprint card directly to DPS.  (Forms are available 
at the Board Office. Please contact staff to send you the necessary documents).  

   c. If applying for a clearance card, provide the DPS application number onto the Board’s application.  If you already have an 
Arizona level one clearance card and it is active for two additional years, include your card number onto the Board’s application.  

 
ARIZONA STATEMENT OF CITIZENSHIP AND ALIEN STATUS:  Applicant must complete the Long Form Applicant Statement and 
submit documentation of status.  Refer to Lists A and B Evidence of U.S. Citizenship, U.S. National Status, or Alien Status contained in the 
application to determine the proper documentation for submission with the application. 
 
NOTIFICATION IN WRITING BY THE BOARD:  Because each applicant must be provided notification in writing and to allow Board 
staff the opportunity to process all applications in a timely manner, please be patient and wait for your written notification.  
Thank you for your cooperation.   

https://boa.az.gov/faqs-background-checks
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In accordance with Title II of the “Americans with Disabilities Act” this information is available in alternative format.     
 

APPLICATION FOR 
REACTIVATION OF LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE FROM INACTIVE STATUS 

For Active Military Duty 
 
$0 Fee    

 
FINGERPRINT CARD:  Fingerprint Clearance Card / Application Status: 
 

 Application Number:________________  OR    Fingerprint Clearance Card Number: ________________ 
 
Inactive license/certificate number ______________________ 
  

All entries must be typewritten or printed in ink. If you do not answer EVERY question, your Application will be 
considered incomplete and will delay the reactivation of your license or certificate from inactive status. 

 
1. Legal name of applicant  _________________________________________________________                                                                                                                            
         (Last)              (First)                  (Middle) 
 
2. Mailing address ________________________________________________________________                                                                                                                                               
      (Number)  (Street)    
 

   ______________________________________________________________ 
   (City)                            (County)        (State)            (Zip) 

 
NOTE:  All mail will be sent to your mailing address.  
 
3.  Daytime telephone number  ______________________Fax number  ___________________                                                                                                                                                
 
4. E-Mail address ________________________________________________________________ 
 
5. Business name and address _____________________________________________________                             
   
  ______________________________________________________________________ 

  (Number)  (Street)   
 
             ______________________________________________________________________ 

(City)             (County)                           (State)          (Zip) 
 
6. Permanent residence address  ____________________________________________________ 

    (Number)  (Street)   
 
            _____________________________________________________________________________ 

(City)             (County)                           (State)          (Zip) 
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7. Date active military duty began:  ___________  Date active military duty ended:  _____________ 
 Attach documentation from the armed forces showing time period of active military duty. 
 
8. The time period for completion of the continuing education requirements that the license or certificate 

holder would otherwise have been required to meet during the period when the license or certificate was 
on inactive status is extended for a period not to exceed 90 days after return from active military duty.  
The license or certificate holder must submit proof of completion of any continuing education 
requirements to the Board no later than 120 days after completion. 

 
VERIFICATION BY OATH OR AFFIRMATION 

 
I have read and understand the requirements for reactivation of my license or certificate from inactive status and 
hereby request to have my license or certificate reactivated from inactive status.   
 
 
______________________________________________________________                                   
Type or print name of applicant 
 
                                             
______________________________________________________________       ________________                 
Signature of applicant                                                                                   Date 
 

 
IRREVOCABLE CONSENT TO SERVICE OF PROCESS 

(For Nonresidents of Arizona Only) 
 

By signing this application, I give my irrevocable consent that service of process on me may be made by delivery 
of the process to the Secretary of State if, in an action against me in a court of this state arising out of my 
activities as a state licensed or state certified appraiser, the plaintiff cannot effect, in the exercise of due diligence, 
personal service on me. 
 
 
______________________________________________________________       ________________                 
Signature of applicant                                                                                   Date 
 
STATE OF ___________________________________   ) 
                   ) ss. 
COUNTY OF _________________________________   ) 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this                  day of                                                       , ________. 
 
 
____________________________________________ My commission expires:  __________________ 
Notary Public  
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THIS SHEET MUST BE COMPLETED FOR EACH RENEWAL PERIOD THAT APPLICANT WAS ON INACTIVE 
STATUS AND SUBMITTED WITH ATTACHMENTS WITHIN 180 DAYS AFTER RETURN FROM ACTIVE 
MILITARY DUTY.  THE LICENSE OR CERTIFICATE HOLDER MUST SUBMIT PROOF OF COMPLETION OF 
ANY CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS TO THE BOARD NO LATER THAN 120 DAYS AFTER 
COMPLETION.   
 
All entries must be typewritten or printed in ink. If you do not answer EVERY question, your submission will be 
considered incomplete. 

 
 
 
Reactivated License/Certificate Number __________________________________________________________ 
 
Name of License/Certificate Holder ______________________________________________________________ 
 
 
List and attach documentation of the Board-approved continuing education appraisal courses you have taken in subjects related to real 
estate appraisal within your two-year renewal period. A minimum of 28 hours is required, including the most recent edition of the 7-hour 
National USPAP Update Course.  Include only those courses lasting at least three hours.  Separate the live courses from the distance 
education courses and include the percentage of hours taken through distance education.   (Distance Education Courses may 
not exceed 75% of the total 28 hours and the 7-hour National USPAP Update Course may not be taken through distance 
education after 6/2/07.) 
 
  Live               Sponsoring           Date             Total 
Course                              Institution                    Completed         Hours  
 
7-hr. national USPAP update course________________________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Distance Education                Sponsoring           Date              Total 
         Courses                    Institution                   Completed            Hours 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______%   Percentage of 28 hours obtained through distance education 
 
 
 
______________________________________________________________                                   
Type or print name of appraiser 
 
                                             
______________________________________________________________       ________________                 
Signature of appraiser                                                                                   Date 
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Form 1: LONG FORM APPLICANT STATEMENT (revised)    
REQUIRING SUBMISSION OF DOCUMENTATION OF STATUS 

 
ARIZONA STATEMENT OF CITIZENSHIP  

AND ALIEN STATUS FOR STATE PUBLIC BENEFITS 
Professional License and Commercial License 

Arizona Board of Appraisal 
 

Title IV of the federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (the "Act"), 8 U.S.C. § 1621, provides that, with 
certain exceptions, only United States citizens, United States non-citizen nationals, non-exempt "qualified aliens" (and sometimes only 
particular categories of qualified aliens), nonimmigrants, and certain aliens paroled into the United States are eligible to receive state or local 
public benefits.   With certain exceptions, a professional license and commercial license issued by a State agency is a State public benefit. 
 
Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-1080 requires, in general, that a person applying for a license must submit documentation to the licensing 
agency that satisfactorily demonstrates that the applicant is lawfully present in the United States. 
 
Directions:  All applicants must complete Sections I, II, and IV.  Applicants who are not U.S. citizens or 
nationals must also complete Section III.  Submit this completed form and copy of one or more documents 
that evidence your citizenship or alien status with your application for license or renewal. 

 
SECTION I — APPLICANT INFORMATION 

      
APPLICANT’S NAME (Print or type) ___________________________________________  
DATE___________________ 
 
TYPE OF APPLICATION (check one) ______ INITIAL APPLICATION  ______ RENEWAL 
 
TYPE OF LICENSE 
______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

SECTION II — CITIZENSHIP OR NATIONAL STATUS DECLARATION 
Directions: Attach a legible copy of the front, and the back (if any), of a document from the attached list or other 
document that demonstrates U.S. citizenship or nationality.  Name of document provided: _____________________ 
 
A.  Are you a citizen or national of the United States? (check one)  ______ Yes  ______ No 
 
B. If the answer is “Yes,” where were you born?  List city, state (or equivalent), and country. 
 City __________________  State (or equivalent) _______________  Country or Territory ______________ 
 
If you are a citizen or national of the United States, go to Section IV.  If you are not a citizen or national of the United 
States, please complete Sections III and IV.   
 

SECTION III — ALIEN STATUS DECLARATION 
Directions:  To be completed by applicants who are not citizens or nationals of the United States.  Please indicate 
alien status by checking the appropriate box.  Attach a legible copy of the front, and the back (if any), of a document 
from the attached list or other document that evidences your status. A.R.S. § 41-1080. Name of document provided: 
_______________________________. 
 
“Qualified Alien” Status (8 U.S.C.§§ 1621(a)(1), -1641(b) and (c)) 
 
_____ 1. An alien lawfully admitted for permanent residence under the Immigration and Nationality Act (INA).   
 
_____ 2. An alien who is granted asylum under Section 208 of the INA.    
 
_____ 3. A refugee admitted to the United States under Section 207 of the INA 
 
_____ 4. An alien paroled into the United States for at least one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA.   
 
_____ 5. An alien whose deportation is being withheld under Section 243(h) of the INA. 
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_____ 6.   An alien granted conditional entry under Section 203(a)(7) of the INA as in effect prior to April 1, 1980.   
 
_____ 7.   An alien who is a Cuban and Haitian entrant (as defined in section 501(e) of the Refugee Education 

Assistance Act of 1980).  
 
_____ 8. An alien who is, or whose child or child’s parent is a “battered alien” or an alien subjected to extreme 

cruelty in the United States.   
 
 
Nonimmigrant Status (8 U.S.C.§ 1621(a)(2)) 
 
_____ 9. A nonimmigrant under the Immigration and Nationality Act [8 U.S.C. § 1101 et seq.]  Nonimmigrants are 

persons who have temporary status for a specific purpose.  See 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15).  
 
Alien Paroled into the United States For Less Than One Year (8 U.S.C.§ 1621(a)(3)) 
 
_____ 10. An alien paroled into the United States for less than one year under Section 212(d)(5) of the INA 
 
Other Persons (8 U.S.C.§ 1621(c)(2)(A) and (C)) 
 
_____ 11. A nonimmigrant whose visa for entry is related to employment in the United States, or  

_____ 12. A citizen of a freely associated state, if section 141 of the applicable compact of free association 
approved in Public Law 99-239 or 99-658 (or a successor provision) is in effect [Freely Associated 
States include the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Republic of Palau and the Federate States of 
Micronesia, 48 U.S.C. § 1901 et seq.]; 

_____ 13. A foreign national not physically present in the United States. 

 

Otherwise Lawfully Present (A.R.S. § 41-1080) 
 
_____ 14. A person not described in categories 1–13 who is otherwise lawfully present in the United States.   
 
PLEASE NOTE:  The federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act may make 
persons who fall into this category ineligible for licensure.  See 8 U.S.C.§ 1621(a). 
 

SECTION IV — DECLARATION  
 
All applicants must complete this section.  I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Arizona 
that the answers I have given are true and correct to the best of my knowledge. 
 
 
 
________________________________________________  ___________________________________ 
APPLICANT’S  SIGNATURE      TODAY’S DATE 
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EVIDENCE OF U.S. CITIZENSHIP, U.S. NATIONAL STATUS, OR ALIEN STATUS 
 
 
You must submit supporting legal documentation (i.e. marriage certificate) if the name on your evidence is 
not the same as your current legal name. 
 
Evidence showing authorized presence in the United State includes the following: 
 

1. An Arizona driver license issued after 1996 or an Arizona non-operating identification license. 
 

2. A driver license issued by a state that verifies lawful presence in the United States * See 
additional information below. 
 

3. A birth certificate or delayed birth certificate showing birth in one of the 50 states, the District 
of Columbia, Puerto Rico (on or after January 13, 1941), Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands (on or 
after January 17, 1917), American Samoa, or the Northern Mariana Islands (on or after 
November 4, 1986, Northern Mariana Islands local time) 
 

4. A United States certificate of birth abroad. 
 

5. A United States passport.  Passport must be signed 
 

6. A foreign passport with a United States visa. 
 

7. An I-94 form with a photograph. 
 

8. A United States citizenship and immigration services employment authorization document of 
refugee travel document. 

 
9. A United States certificate of naturalization. 

 
10. A United States certificate of citizenship. 

 
11. A tribal certificate of Indian blood. 

 
12. A tribal or bureau of Indian affairs affidavit of birth. 

 
13. Any other license that is issued by the federal government, any other state government, an 

agency of this state or a political subdivision of this state that requires proof of citizenship or 
lawful alien status before issuing the license. 
 

(*) Driver License or Instruction Permit issued in Arizona, another state, territory or possession of the 
U.S., except a license issued by a state under A.R.S. § 28-3153 that does not verify lawful presence in 
the U.S. under federal law.  
 
The following states that do not verify lawful presence are: Illinois, New Mexico, Utah and Washington ** 
See except below for Washington.  
 
U.S. territories and possessions include: American Samoa, Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, 
Marshall Islands, Northern Marianas, Palau, Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands.  
 
(**) Washington Exception: The Enhanced Driver’s License/ID issued by the State of Washington is 
acceptable as documentation of lawful presence. 
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