The path to becoming a licensed or certified appraiser is shown on the attached forms. All applicants must apply for a Level 1 Clearance Card through the Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS). The purpose is to comply with A.R.S.32-3620 for criminal background checks. Clearance Cards are valid for six years from issuance.
If you are located in Arizona, you may have your fingerprints submitted for the background check through a live scan process as explained here http://fieldprintarizona.com
For those who are not located in Arizona, please contact our staff to send you the necessary documents. The fee for this background check is $67.00 and can be submitted with a business check, cashier's check or money order made payable to DPS. Please send the fee, the appropriate DPS form, and the fingerprint card directly to DPS.
An applicant to become a Trainee Appraiser must first take the required classes, complete the application and pay a $300.00 application fee. This fee also covers the registration for three years of their training. We encourage applicants to first obtain a Designated Supervisor (a Certified Appraiser in our state). They must work under a qualified registered Supervisor who meets the AQB 2015 criteria and current Arizona statute requirements. Once a Designated Supervisor is found, please have them complete the Notification of Engagement Form found here: https://boa.az.gov/designated-supervisory-trainee-appraiser-application-and-forms
This form should accompany your application to become a Trainee Appraiser for quicker processing. The application can be found here: https://boa.az.gov/appraiser-trainee-appraiser-initiail-and-renewal-application
All applicants to become licensed and certified appraisers are required to pass a National Examination (additional fee paid directly to the national exam provider), as well as submit an Application fee of $400.00 and a separate fee of $80.00 for the National Registry. The AQB 2015 Criteria was adopted in Arizona statutes as of September 13, 2013. and the Arizona Administrative Code Title 4, Chapter 46, Article 2 has been revised and filed under the rulemaking exemption on November 21, 2013 with the Secretary of State Office. The revision was published in the registry on December 13, 2013.
The education and experience must be completed and the application must be approved before the examination may be taken.
The Appraisal Foundation:
For additional information concerning The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria and the National Uniform Real Property Examination, please visit The Appraisal Foundation’s website at www.appraisalfoundation.org.